Apple Vs Samsung, What about the rest?

When we say multimedia, we think of pictures, music, videos, films, animations and many more. Multimedia has the power to effectively engage the internet users  with its appealing elements. Correct me if I am wrong but anything that has pictures or videos definitely attracts us. Given its popularity, multimedia such as photo sharing, video, podcasts and mobile marketing are increasingly used in many marketing strategies.

Multimedia can spread the word about the product and help build brand awareness in a very unique and powerful way. Multimedia has the ability to go viral quickly.

Leading mobile phone companies such as Samsung and Apple are using video commercials to enhance their brand. Lets not forget Nokia as well as many are also utilizing multimedia to capture the attention of many cellphone users out there.

Lets take a look at a few (some I have enjoyed, some are utterly boring…),

Apple iPhone 5 advertisement

What a snoozefest. Okay don’t get me wrong. I am an iPhone user and I thoroughly enjoy the cellphone but am I the only one that feels that iPhone commercials are blah? Whatever happen to the time of the cool iPod commercial with the dancing people? (You know what I am talking about!) Yes the commercial is letting the phone talk for itself, bragging the features it has. However is it enough? The first few seconds with the man talking is enough to put me to sleep. Yes, it is an effective way of using multimedia to educate the public about the phone but its a flop in captivating one’s attention.

Apple, the iPhone is amazing! Why not make a video commercial that is awesome too! ( Ps. take notes from Samsung)

Even though I am an iPhone fan, I have go to admit that Samsung ads are the bomb!

I love this commercial. It is a sly move on Samsung but it is brilliant! It is basically a parody of consumer queueing in line for a certain “phone” (ahh its obvious what phone it is). Not only is it amusing, it is actually pretty persuasive. I am so close to getting myself a Samsung S3…

This is a perfect example of effective marketing using multimedia. It manage to attract my attention, create brand awareness as well as tell me about the product.

The next Samsung commercial is not that bad either.

This commercial, if not created properly may just end up like the iPhone 5’s. It is using the video to show off the features the phone has (which can easily be boring). However, Samsung use stunning imagery and cinematography as well as brilliant phone tips to capture the attention of the audience perfectly.

So who is the winner? Well… I can’t say. I may sound bias toward Samsung but I am still an iPhone fan. If you look closer, all these ads are talking about the same things about phones that have similar functions and features. The only difference is that if their use of multimedia manage to captivate us.

The video commercials merely got their foot in the door. The rest is up to the phone to win us over.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Apple Vs Samsung, What about the rest?

  1. All the other brands should just give up, LOL. What happened to Blackberry? It seems like it’s gone. And what about Motorola? Remember that cool Moto Razr phone? It was the iPhone of that era. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAOdRUStNxY

    Anyway, I really enjoyed the second video. it’s making me think twice about my iPhone 5. Nice one, Samsung.

  2. Ain says:

    Not really a fan of the battle between apple and Samsung but I do love the way their advertisements have snide little remarked about the others’ brand. Haha

Leave a comment