eLearning

Electronic learning or E-Learning allows you to learn anytime and anywhere as long as you have a computer or now, even a smartphone! (that is correctly configured)

It can be CD-ROM based, Network-based, Intranet-based or Internet-based. It can include text, video, audio, animation and virtual environments. It can be a very rich learning experience that can even surpass the level of training you might experience in a crowded classroom. It’s self-paced, hands-on learning.

E-Learning is far from new. In fact, the concept of eLearning have been around for quite a while actually. Recall the SARS a few years back. Since school was closed, many  of them utilized E-Learning to keep the students on track with school work.

Today, even in SIM-UB we encounter E-Learning. Some of you may be talking up online modules. Basically, you do not have to be in the school to learn. Nifty huh? Just download the video lectures and you are good to go!

Other than all the boring school stuff, I feel that E-Learning has evolved. You can learn anything on the Internet. We turn to Google for information we do not know. In fact just by “googling”  we are learning something new everyday.

Want to learn how to cook? Google it. Want to learn how to play a guitar? You can just head to YouTube. Yes I said YouTube. YouTube is filled with tutorials for anything from something as trivial as frying an egg to tutorials about municipal bonds.

Here are some examples:

Learn how to make pancakes!

Or if your communication modules are stressing you, there are also videos for that.

Thus, with the existence of Google, YouTube and many others, E-Learning has definitely transcended into a huge part of our lives.

3 thoughts on “eLearning

  1. I must admit that whenever I’m unsure of anything, I’ll google it. When I want to learn how to do something I’ll look for it on Youtube. I remember preparing myself before my switch from a PC to a Mac by watching a lot of Youtube videos. And whenever I needed to do something on my computer, like installing a new software or start using a new software, I’ll look to Youtube for help. I admit it, Youtube and Google are the best teachers in the world. haha.

  2. Ain says:

    Great videos! Will definitely watch the first video again when I’m down for some pancakes! And yeah, elearning has been around for quite some time especially during the SARS period where we were made to stay home and learn when all I wanted to do was sleep. Let’s hope there won’t be repeat of that for Ntr!

Leave a comment